Flowers grown by a brown thumb.

I have some beautiful flowers in my garden at the moment which isn’t bad for a brown thumb like me.

The large red flower is from a cactus type plant that would have a very difficult to say, and even harder to spell botanical name no doubt but I’ve always know it as a strap cactus as it’s “branches” look like prickly, thick ropes. It flowers once a year and I think it survives well for me because it doesn’t need much water. (I have a bad habit of forgetting about watering plants). The flowers don’t have any smell and as you can see are quite beautiful.

The sweet pea plant just popped up in the garden bed and I just left it alone as plants live longer when I don’t touch them. I’ve already mentioned I have a brown thumb not a green one.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Flowers grown by a brown thumb.

  1. Love the cactus flower – cacti have such beautiful flowers, that suddenly appear in a blaze of glory. I think all ours were freebies that I acquired from somewhere. I’ve never grown sweet peas but they are so delicate aren’t they?

    Like

    1. I’ve never successfully grown sweet pea either. It’s a climbing plant and seen people have massive trellises of them all in flower. They are beautiful and have such a soft scent too.
      The cactus I just love because I don’t feel bad neglecting it. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.